Masters Masters Superheroes!


Website:  Amazon.com

Reviewed By:  Sean Hutchinson

Number of Stars:  5.0

Forging Truth

Forging Truth Cover

Forging Truth is excellent. Buy it. Read it.

That’s basically all you need to know, but I’ll elaborate further.

Forging Truth is really excellent.

Joking aside, you seriously need to pick up a copy of this book. Masters has written a great tale in and of itself, and also lain the groundwork for an even greater series.

Forging Truth hits a bunch of my favorite notes. Superheros? Check. Mysterious mysteries? Check. A healthy dose of humor? Another check. The real hook of the novel, what really grabbed my attention and made me love the book, is that even within these areas, Masters puts his own style and flourish on them.

Let’s look at superheros. I’m a comics fan. I like Marvel and DC, so I’ve read my fair share of stories involving the capes and tights crowd. With Kade Truth we get to see a fun power set with a pretty unique origin story. I’m excited to see if he’ll further develop some new abilities, or even just some creative uses of his current skills. You can tell that Masters is a fan of the genre as well, as he has a very strong command of the action scenes.

Onto the mystery angle. The main premise is pretty straightforward. Kade has amnesia and needs to find out who he is and what happened to him. The truth about Truth is doled out over the course of the story in carefully measured doses. One of the big twists hit me completely by surprise, and I’m eager to see if I can pick up any clues on a second reading.

Masters has a great ear for dialogue, and the back and forth banter between characters is pretty funny. There are some rather hilarious quips peppered throughout the book, but he also pens a few truly heartfelt scenes.

All in all, I can’t recommend this book enough. I really enjoyed it and I’ve got high expectations for where Masters takes the series next.

Please, leave a reply.

