Summer Reading Goals


This summer, I’m going to be doing a lot of reading.  That in and of itself isn’t anything new.  But this year is apt to be a little different.  While, normally, my focus is on each month’s comics haul, this year, I have the added responsibility of slushpile reading for Dark Quest Books.  Granted, I began reading for them a year ago this month (Whoa! A whole year!), but this year I have the advantage of a portable reading device.  For an early birthday gift, I picked up an internet tablet (Coby Kyros, if you must know).  I cashed in some points from my credit cart, and so far, I couldn’t be happier.  I’ve already read parts of two different books on it for DQB.

So, if you consider those “assigned readings,” then we can set them to the side and look at my “elective reading list.”

I’m in the middle of the Star Trek: Typhon Pact series.  Plus, I have a handful of various Trek books I plan on reading should I finish those.

I just snagged a advance review copy of Dead 2 that I’ll be checking out from May December Publication.  Look for a review up here sometime this summer.

Plus, my buddy Jason Letts has some very interesting books that I’ve been meaning to check out for a long, long time.

How about you?  Care to share your summer lists?

– Ray

4 responses to “Summer Reading Goals

  1. I’ve been considering jumping into the tablet waters lately. I wonder if I’ll manage to resist… 😉

    Just today I started reading the penultimate “Wheel of Time” novel, all 800+ pages. That’ll take a few weeks, then I’ll move on to more mass market fantasy books that have piled up (Tad Williams, you’re next).

    I know Jason has something cool up his sleeve, I can’t wait to see it.

    Oh, and don’t forget writing!

  2. Right now I’m reading Ramit Sethi’s latest personal finance book, and next on my list is Drive: In Pursuit of Purpose, Passion, and Profits by Tony Hsieh (CEO of Zappos). I read Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell a couple weekends ago; it was pretty awesome. Oh, and I just got the latest copy of Java: How to Program (9th Edition) by Dietel, that we’re using to help teach students in my course Java. (I started on the 5th edition; I have a sentimental bond with this book :P) And I have about 100 technical papers and a number of other books in my reading queue. Yayy!! 🙂

Please, leave a reply.

