It’s Been Fun – A Fanboy Farewell


This is my final column, not just in the series of What I’m Excited For, but under the banner of Project Fanboy.  Maybe I’ll be back in the future, but for now, I have so many irons in the fire that I had to choose which ones to nurture and grow.  All in all, I’m very much looking forward to getting my articles out on GeekDad.com.  Well, ok, more on that later.  For right now, please, check out the column below.

 

******

 

These past three columns, I’ve been talking about what I’m looking forward to the most as a fanboy. So many big events have me on pins and needles waiting for my next shipment of comics to hit. I’m having to take out a second mortgage on my house to afford all the super-hero based movies hitting the big screen. And if I had a time machine, I wouldn’t use it for some big heroic deed or even pull a Biff Tannen, I’d simply shoot forward to pick up a copy of Arkham City and the DVD release of the final season of Smallville. Indeed, 2011 looks to be a booming year to be a fan of comics and their various and sundry adaptations.

While I’m thrilled about all of these, I also have some exciting opportunities in front of me, on a personal level.

Wired’s GeekDad.com blog has offered me a spot as an occasional contributer with the opportunity to move up to a core contributor over time. They receive over a million unique hits each month due to their in-depth, yet conversational, coverage of anything and everything that a geek – especially one who is a dad – might care about. They do everything from product reviews and previews to interviews with some very interesting and entertaining people.

This opportunity on top of my other duties, such as slushpile reading for Dark Quest Books, coupled with my own comic script and novel writing endeavors, take up nearly any time I am not at my “real” job. I also have some friends who are starting up their own comic book community, and they’ve asked for my help in getting it up and going.

So, sadly, somehting’s got to give to make room for these, hopefully, beneficial changes in my schedule.

I have ultimately decided for this to be my final column with Project Fanboy for the foreseeable future. You guys have been nothing but good to me. Guys, I appreciate the support and words of encouragement I received through email, PM’s, and posts. I realize at times, I tend to babble, but no one ever called me on it, so I guess I did all right. In the end, what more could I ask for?

Love, peace, and chicken grease,

Ray

Please, leave a reply.

