What I’m Excited For In 2011 – Movies Editions


This was originally posted on Saturday, February 19, 2011 on ProfessionalFanboy.com.  It is the second installment in a series of four, talking about the cool comic book goings-on for 2011.
******
I love an action packed summer blockbuster as much as the next person, and that goes doubly for anything comic or geek related. However, as expensive as movies are these days, its all I can do to justify the expense. Yeah, and don’t get me started on the $2.50 can of soda in the vending machine or the ten-dollar popcorn at the concession stand. Cost aside, I still manage to pull myself to two or three every summer.Well, guess what, the summer blockbusters? They’re starting a little early this year, and I’m strapped for cash. I have points that I can cash in for prizes either through promotional deals or through my credit card rewards, so maybe I’ll pull me some cinema passes and do it that way. 

No matter how I do it, it’s still going to be hard to decide which one I’m most stoked to see. Don’t take my word for it, just check these out.

Green Hornet – Currently in theaters

I’ve only recently had any dealings with Green Hornet comics, but my buddy swears by them. I haven’t seen it yet, and I initially gave it a pass. I watched a trailer for it, though, and I think I’ll be picking it up at RedBox in a few months.

Priest – March 4

Rebel priest? Check. Vampires? Check. Is this yet another remake of ‘Salem’s Lot? RedBoxing this one, too.

Thor – May 6

My friend, Vic, has read Thor for as long as I can recall, but being a DC man, I’ve never picked it up. I’ve read the odd story with him in it over the years, granted, but I’ve never given him much thought.

My cousin caught an early look at the trailer, and he couldn’t say enough about it. Then, on Superbowl Sunday, I was one of the millions to see it, and, all I have to say is “…..”.

This movie will definitely kick so much Asgard. I’ll be there with my bucket of popcorn and expensive drink, too.

X-Men: First Class – June 3

I was the only one of my group who enjoyed the first three movies. When I first heard the news for a proposed reboot, I was ticked. After watching the teasers and official trailer, recently, I am starting to come around.

I’m sure I’ll be forking over some more dough for this one, too.

They should keep my seat reserved, too, because next, I’ll be hitting . . .

Green Lantern – June 17

Finally! And, it looks like Warner Bros. might be doing it right. I know Jeoff Johns is impressed by it. With 7200 sectors, and the rich legacy of the character and the corps itself, this is really one of those movies that could hit the ground running and never stop.

Transformers 3 – July 1

Ok, so this is another Michael Bay pic with the spindly robots in disguise as Transformers, but I really liked the first one a lot. The trailer for this one looks far better than two.

With it opening the day after my birthday, I’m sure I’ll be there to unwrap the paper.

First Avenger: Captain America – July 22

Thank you, Marvel, for baldly labeling it as The First Avenger. When is DC going to follow suit with a The First JLA-er movie?

As for the movie, itself, I don’t know how well it’s going to follow with the comic, but the Superbowl spot looked solid.

Theater or rental? Theater, I believe.

Cowboys and Aliens – July 29

Please, forgive me, but this looks like soooo much fun. I doubt I’ll be going to see it, but I’ll probably be scooping it up the day it’s released for rental.

There are several other candidates for the must watch list, but these are the main ones I’m looking forward to. How ’bout you guys?

See you soon,
Ray

Please, leave a reply.

