What I’m Excited For In 2011: Miscellaneous Edition


This is my next to last column in the What I’m Excited For series.  Stay tuned tomorrow for my final column.

 

*****

 

End of Smallville:

This is going to be a hard one for me. I don’t have reception out where I live, so I have to wait and pick up the seasons when they come out. I don’t know if I can wait, though. As much as I’m looking forward to it, though, it’s definitely going to be bittersweet. I love this series. It began as a fun diversion for a Superman fan, but it quickly turned into it’s own fun separate universe of familiar characters and settings. It was sort of like the ultimate Elseworlds maxi-series, only on TV.

So, to the team behind Smallville, I salute you. Great show, everyone.

Young Justice – I still haven’t seen this, because of the whole reception thing, but I hear some very good things about it. Let’s hope it gets a good foothold and lasts longer than some of the other Cartoon Network WB shows.

Green Lantern Series in November

Not to beat a dead horse, here, but . . . Stupid rural area at the bottom of a big hill without reception rasser frasser rassa frassa . . . I so want this to be huge. Bruce Timm, again? Heck yes, please.

Walking Dead’s 2nd Season – I’ve only seen a small, small, portion of a couple of episodes, but this looks horridly sweet. Looking forward to it for everyone else’s sake, since I won’t be watching it until it’s all released, probably.

New Animated DC and Marvel movies for 2011:

Animated DC Direct to DVD Movies:

Following up on the recent release of All Star Superman – Feb 22, DC will be putting out
Green Lantern: Emerald Knights on June 7 (Capitalizing yet again on the buzz for this year’s big screen adaptation). There is also talk of Batman: Year One, possibly being released in September.

Here’s but a glimpse at 2011 Convention Schedule. For an in-depth listing, check out http://www.geekcal.com/ They rock! Oh, and check out all of the cons scheduled for this weekend and the rest of March.

ECCC: Emerald City Comic Convention – This Weekend, Seattle

Steel City Comic Con – This Weekend, Monroeville, PA

Metropolis Super Con – This Weekend, Metropolis, IL

Buckeye Comic Con – This Weekend, Columbus, OH

C2E2 – March 18 – 20, Chicago

MegaCon – March 25 – 27, Orlando

Boston Comic Con – April 30 – May 1

FCBD – Not really a con, but this thing gets bigger with each passing year. Everyone celebrates it. Just show up at a shop, and they’re bound to have giveaways or quarter comic sales, or something.

WonderCon – April 1 – 3, San Francisco

Comicon International – July 21 – 24, San Diego

APE: Alternative Press Expo – October 1 – 2, San Francisco

2011 Comic Book Games:

Some games, I will be the first in line for, such as Batman, while others I’ll have to visit a friend who doesn’t live in the sticks. I actually bought my PS3 to be ready for the release of the DCUMMORPG, but then I found out it won’t work online out here. (This is the last time you hear me whine about it, ok?)

DC Universe Online
Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds
Batman: Arkham City
X-Men: Destiny
Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters
Thor: The Video Game
Captain America: Super Soldier

I know there are still so many miscellaneous comic goodies out there I’m missing, here, so please feel free to chime in with some of your own.

Ok, that’s it for now, but stay tuned tomorrow for my final column in the “What I’m Excited For” series.

Take care,
Ray

Please, leave a reply.

